GreenPackin'

When BackPackin' go GreenPackin'

Making Your Own Gear

Leave a comment

I’ve always purchased my gear “ready-made” and I’ve had to settle for what was on the market that was in my price range. I’ve looked at many a tent and have also read the pertinent reviews for each of those I’ve looked at.

I’ve finally decided that it’s time to replace the current tent I’m using. It’s a heavy bear, weighing in at 4lbs.-2oz for a two-man tent. I’ve had it for close to ten years and it has served me well in rain, wind, snow and sleet. But, since I’m contemplating a hike of a rather long duration, I don’t want to be lugging this behemoth around on my back. It’s fine for hikes in the one week or less category but for a multi-week or multi-month  hike, this just won’t do.

After hours of research on ready-made tents and home-made tents, I’ve finally decided on one that fits my needs and is well within my price range. At a cost of around $115.00 and weighing in at 1lb.-9 oz, I’m ready to place my order for the plans and materials for a 1-man tent called the Bilgy SoLo. It has all the features I require and packs into an incredibly small package. It uses trekking poles for the support structure and since I already carry trekking poles, there will be no additional weight for support poles.

Bilgy SoLo

I’ll keep you posted on how well I’m doing with the construction of the tent and how well it fits what I’m looking for in a tent. I strongly suspect that I will not be disappointed!

And remember,

When BackPackin’ go GreenPackin’

Author: GreenPackin'

Who is GreenPackin’? GreenPackin’ is a company that believes in providing only healthy and organic foods and other organic, biodegradable and low impact backpacking, hiking and outdoors products. We are reaching out to those who are passionate about backpacking, hiking and the outdoors and desire to leave a minimal impact on the environment. An integral part of the GreenPackin’ shipping process is the development of a network of Inns, Hostels and other lodging types that are frequented by backpackers, hikers and cyclists. We also enlist the help of shuttle providers along the trails. GreenPackin’ will ship your order to these locations. For planning purposes, take a look at our Google maps accessible through this site. Using these established networks allows a hiker greater flexibility with planning mail drops and also ensuring that you will always be able to obtain the foods and products you want and enjoy. These networks are a vast improvement to the typical US Post Office General Delivery option often employed by long distance backpackers and hikers. GreenPackin’ is not limited to shipping to trail locations only, we will be happy to ship to your home or any other location you request. David Jenerick Founder / President of GreenPackin'

Leave a Reply

